Reshaping Rochester Awards

Event Information

8th Annual Reshaping Rochester Awards

Save the date!

Thursday, November 8, 2018
11:30 AM - 1:30 PM
Harro East Ballroom
155 North Chestnut St.

Awards Planning Committee

Maria Furgiuele
Amy Hecker
Tina Kurland
Bill Price
Kathy DiGiulio
Angela Richards


Each year, the Community Design Center presents a special luncheon event to honor the winners of the annual Reshaping Rochester Awards. The awards recognize exemplary regional initiatives and projects that positively impact people, neighborhoods, and the community. The Robert Macon Award for Urban Observation and the Betty Strasenburgh Award for Activism Award winners are nominated by YOU, the public!

Jeff SpeckKeynote Speaker:

Albert Paley, Artist

Albert Paley, an active artist for over 40 years at his studio in Rochester, New
York, is the first metal sculptor to receive the coveted Institute Honors awarded
by the American Institute of Architects, the AIA’s highest award to a nonarchitect. Commissioned by both public institutions and private corporations, Paley has
completed more than 50 site-specific works. Some notable examples are the
Portal Gates for the Renwick Gallery of the Smithsonian Institution in Washington DC, Synergy, a ceremonial archway in Philadelphia, the Portal Gates for the New York State Senate Chambers in Albany, Sentinel, a monumental plaza sculpture for Rochester Institute of Technology, as well as a 65-foot sculpture for the entry court of Bausch and Lomb’s headquarters in Rochester, NY.

Nominations are now being accepted!

Do you know a person or project that is reshaping the Greater Rochester region? We want to hear about it! We invite you to nominate someone or something worthy of being celebrated by filling out an application form below .

All materials should be received by noon Friday, September 14, 2018 and may be submitted online via e-mail to, hand delivered, or mailed to the Community Design Center Rochester, 1115 East Main Street, Door #3B (Box #61), Rochester, New York 14609. 

Winners will be announced at the Awards Luncheon on November 8, 2018!

Reshaping Rochester Award Categories

Robert Macon Award for Urban Innovation
Established to honor the late architect Robert Macon, nominations for this award recognize projects that demonstrate Design Excellence and contribute to enriching the public realm. Projects can include new construction or the re-use of existing structures.

Click here to download the Robert Macon Application form (Word file)
Click here to download the Robert Macon Application form (PDF)


Betty Strasenburgh Award for Activism
This award, named in honor of Rochester activist Betty Strasenburgh, underscores the importance of civic spirit, persistence, and determination that translates visions into reality.  It recognizes individuals who or organizations that are going beyond conventional boundaries to achieve a transformative idea or process that positively impacts a community in our greater Rochester region.

Click here to download the Betty Strasenburgh Application form (Word file)
Click here to download the Robert Macon Application form (PDF)


Joni Monroe Award (formerly the Directors’ Award)
This award recognizes efforts that have enhanced the public realm and contributed to its vibrancy.
The Design Center’s Board of Directors considers:
- Demonstrated high quality level of community design, planning, policy and expertise
- Visible success of an endeavor over an extended period of time
- Communication of a vision


Click here to see past Reshaping Rochester Award winners!